CHEESECAKE BARS WITH CHOCOLATE GANACHE TOPPING


4873862493_151271de45_o

 

Yield: Approximately 30 bars

Prep Time: 30 minutes

Cook Time: 45 minutes
001

INGREDIENTS

Crust:

1 1/2 cups crushed Graham crackers, mixed with 1 1/2 Tablespoons of unsweetened cocoa powder
3 Tablespoons packed brown sugar
6 Tablespoons melted butter

Cheesecake:

3 (8 oz.) packages cream cheese, softened
1 cup sugar
2 Tablespoons flour
3 eggs
8 oz. sour cream
1 Tablespoon vanilla

Chocolate Ganache:

8 oz. heavy whipping cream
2 oz. butter
8 oz semi-sweet chocolate
1/4 cup confectioners’ sugar

DIRECTIONS

1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees F. Spray a 13 x 9 inch pan with cooking spray.  Mix cookie, cocoa powder, and sugar together.  Add melted butter and stir until combined.  Press the mixture into pan.

003004

2. Cream the sugar, cream cheese, and flour with an electric mixer on medium until light and fluffy.  On medium low, add eggs one at a time, mixing well with each addition.  Add sour cream and vanilla and mix until just combined.  Pour on prepared crust and bake for about 45 minutes. Remove and cool.

007008

3. Prepare ganache.  Heat cream and butter on stove until just before boiling.  Remove from stove and pour over chocolate. Stir until completely combined.  Add confectioners’ sugar and beat with a wire whisk until combined and smooth.  Pour over cooled cheesecake. Cover and refrigerate overnight.  Cut into bars and serve.

001002003004

NOTES

Aside from the obvious trouble I’m inevitably going to have with the mixer, this recipe is actually incredibly easy to follow.  Literally, all you do, is follow the recipe.  This was my second attempt at this recipe, and both times it turned out wonderfully.  The biggest irritation was crushing the Graham crackers with the rolling pin.  I promised myself last time I made this recipe, that I would buy pre-crushed cookies, but for some reason I decided against it and found myself becoming increasingly annoyed as I tried to get the cookies into tiny pieces.  One important part of this recipe is to ensure everything is completely cooled before placing in the fridge.  Before adding the ganache, I let the cheesecake base cool for almost an hour, and then about another half hour before placing it in the fridge once I added the ganache topping.  This was a step I skipped the last time I made the bars, resulting in some condensation on the ganache and leaving it slightly discoloured in some places after it had hardened.  The original recipe (linked below) called for biscoff cookies, but I couldn’t for the life of me find these cookies ANYWHERE.  So, I substituted, and used Graham crackers mixed with cocoa powder and it turned out really well.

002

TASTE

Out of all the recipes I have attempted this Christmas, this one is my absolute favourite, which is why I decided to give it another go…I have been snacking on them so much I am almost out of bars to give as gifts!

Original recipe from bakerella.com.

One thought on “CHEESECAKE BARS WITH CHOCOLATE GANACHE TOPPING

  1. Pingback: Nanaimo Bars with Ganache Topping | Kelsey Learns to Bake

Leave a Reply

