Zebra Print Cake

So this week, instead of the usual dozen or two of cupcakes, I decided to focus on a cake! I graduated (yes graduated – there’s a certificate and everything, and it’s signed so you know it’s legit) from my Wilton cake decorating class, and for my Master cake I created a zebra print cake with a hot pink fondant bow and ball border.  My masterpiece was a 2 layer 9 inch cake, one layer was chocolate and the other french vanilla (sorry to disappoint but they were totally box cakes – scratch would have been too much and apparently doesn’t turn out as nice).  This is the third cake that I’ve ever made, and I must say it’s my favourite one so far.  This week, rather than cupcakes, I will again be focusing on creating a cake….I love February! So far I have 3 birthday cakes! My aunt loved the zebra print for her 50th…stay tuned for a NASCAR cake for my hunny’s dad!

Step one was to make the bow.  You can find the tutorial for creating fondant bows here.

photo 1 (1)

photo 2 (1)

Then, after baking my cake and coating it with a layer of buttercream, I covered it with fondant.  Let me tell you, for some reason I had the worst. time. ever. baking this cake.  First, I’m stupid, and thought hmmmmmm. I wonder what would happen if I put the entire cake batter into one, nine inch pan.  Would that work? Of course… So ya I tried it.  It does not work.  Never do this. Ever.  The sides will burn and the inside will not cook.  Like at all.  Any idiot could have googled this.  But nope. I decided to try it out without any research…and it blew up in my face.  That’s the novice baker in me coming out.  Yikes.  So.  I learned my lesson, and tossed the cake, and decided to make a new one.  The second cake I made was properly separated into two individual nine inch pans. Yay Kelsey! Ou, except for some reason, once the cake was cooled, when I popped it out of the pan it just did not want to go….well, half of it didn’t.  So the cake split in half.  I was so angry.  One of the cakes turned out fine though.  Riddle me that my friends.  Anyways, hence the reason why one layer is chocolate and the other vanilla.  But no matter it tasted great.

photo 3 (3)

photo 2 (3)

After covering the cake with fondant, I made the zebra stripes.  Tip:  BUY PRE-DYED BLACK FONDANT.  I kid you not my friends dying it black takes a lot of time, dye, and messy hands.  I rolled out the fondant as thin a possible, used my ribbon cutter to cut out 1-inch thick strips, and then cut those into triangle like strips.  I then glued them on the cake in an alternating pattern.

photo 4 (3)

photo 5 (3)

photo 1 (2)

I placed the bow on top, and then created the ball border.  Basically the border is fondant balls glued on to the edge of the cake.  I used a medium sized Wilton circle cutout to cut out a bunch of circles of the same size.  I cut those in half and then rolled each half into a ball.

photo 2 (2)

photo 3 (1)

photo 5 (2)

And there you have it!  My Aunty was so happy she cried.  I’m so proud. Happy decorating!  FYI – If you want a cake done I will be happy to make it for you so I can have more additions to my portfolio, and I will only charge you cost.  Keep that in mind if you live in my area!

photo 4 (1)

5 thoughts on “Zebra Print Cake

  1. Kelsey I absolutely love the step by step tutorial 🙂 you make me laugh! Your cakes look so professional, I can’t believe you’ve only made three! You are only going to get better and better!! Keep up the amazing work! Xo

    Brandy 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

