Baby Bum Cake

photo 2 (4)So my cousins Brandy and Steve just had their third baby (yikes)…and he decided to make an appearance like eight weeks early! (double yikes).  So of course, the little guy had to stay in the hospital for a few weeks until he was tough enough to face the world.  My Aunt Michelle asked me to make a cake in honor of his arrival home.  And, of course…I couldn’t say no…I mean, it’s a cake..and I get to make it, there’s no question.  But then she specified what find of cake she wanted, and I panicked slightly.  She wanted a cake with a little baby bum and baby feet poking out from under a blanket.  And I was all, “Hmm…no it cant be done I’m too much of a novice.”  But I did some research and pulled out my best You Tube and Googling skills, and of course I couldn’t help but try it.  “Challenge Accepted.”  I found a bunch of picture how toos all over the place, and that’s when I realized that while this would probably be a little tough, it wouldn’t be super impossible to do.  The hardest part was the feet, but even then I didn’t really have any major problems.  So lets start with the lessons learned from my last cake.  I have been having trouble covering my cakes because my cake frosting techniques aren’t quite stellar yet.  This time, I really tried to make an efforts to frost my cake as close to perfect as I could get it.  I made the frosting alot thinner than I usually do, and that REALLY helped.  Another thing I found really helped is the way I covered my cake with fondant. I usually put the cake directly on a cake board and cover it on there, and then cut the extra pieces off with my pizza cutter.  This time I put the cake on a cake circle, and to cover it I put it on top of a large can of tomatoes (it doesn’t hav eot be tomatoes…i can be beans, peas, potatoes…hehe.) and draped the fondant over the cake.  The can allowed me to see how much of the excess fondant I was cutting off, it didn’t pull as much so I had zero rips to repair, and i had a much neater edge.  Since the cake circle was raised I was able to push the fondant edge under the cake circle slightly, creating a cleaner finish.  I was very happy with the brightness of the colours too, since this was an issue I had with my last cake.  Another thing I enjoyed about this cake was that I took the time to cover the cake board.  I hate the tinfoil look that most cake boards have, so covering the board in fondant really added to the overall look of the cake.

The cake was three layers: two layers of chocolate and vanilla in the center.  I took alot of care when covering my cake this time around, and I think it really paid off.  This is probably the best job I’ve ever done (so far).  The baby bum part of the cake is actually a full other cake.  I found a 3D soccer ball cake mold and filled one half with vanilla cake mix.  The instructions said to bake it for 25-30 minutes…. but it took almost 40 for this cake to cook all the way through! I almost chucked it initially because I thought I had put too much mix in the mold.  The cake was decorated with different sized polka dots (the small and medium wilton circle fondant cutters) and with a bow-tie style bow.  I know I posted a tutorial for this type of bow last cake, but I enjoy this one a little more.  It adds more detail to the center tie, making it look more realistic.  You can find it on the CakeSuppliesPlus YouTube channel.

I first covered the cake board.  Roll out your fondant as you would if you were covering a cake.  Ensure it’s big enough.  Use piping gel to stick the fondant to the board.  You can also use water, but I’ve used both and I find the gel works the best.

photo 1 (1)photo 2 (1)

Stack and frost the cakes.  Make icing as thin as possible.  This will help to keep the edges smooth, making it easier to cover in fondant.

photo 3 (1)photo 5 (1)

Next, I took the little sphere shaped cake I made and covered it in buttercream.  Then, I covered it in fondant.  I made it look similar to a diaper, so it would really look like a baby bum wearing a diaper.  I found having the mini cake on top of the bigger cake was more cost efficient than using a bunch of fondant to try and mold a big blob into a diaper.

photo 1photo 2 (2)

Then, I covered the main, larger cake in fondant and created the bow using half gum paste, half fondant, so that it would harden faster.  I applied the bow and a 1 inch ribbon strip around the cake.  I added the polka dots in a lighter blue.

photo 2photo 4

photo 1 (2)photo 5

I was pretty lost with the legs and feet.  I found a website with a pretty decent tutorial so I used alot of the tips from this site for the toes, feet, and legs.

photo 3 (2)photo 2 (3)

I placed the bum and legs on the main cake and secured it using buttercream, as the gum paste glue that I used last cake destroyed too much of the fondant once the top layer was removed.  The blanket was created by rolling out fondant, and then by using a fondant embosser to create the shooting star design.  I glued sugar pearls to the edge and then placed it on top of the bum.  I used gum paste glue to secure it.

photo 5 (2)photo 1 (4)

This is my favourite cake so far (yes I know I say that every time but really, this is my favourite).  I love the concept, and it looks quite detailed and complicated for something that turned out to be rather simple.  I think I just love baby themed cakes…they’re all cute with adorable colours and polka dots and ribbons and bows.  I think that what I loved most about this cake was the fact that I did a really great job icing the cake and covering it with fondant.  I feel like it looks very well done (and of course I love the baby feet…I enjoy how realistic I was able to make them).

photo 3 (3)

photo 4 (3)photo 5 (3)

After doing this cake I realized how awful I am with icing!  The “Welcome Home Lincoln” that I piped on the cake board was literally the hardest thing I had to do on this cake.  I’m thinking that I may take another Wilton cake decorating class in the late spring, most likely class 1 or 2 so I can learn how to work with icing a little better.  Anyways, I had tons of fun doing this cake…I am currently working on an XBOX cake with a minecraft theme, and I can’t wait to see how that turns out.  And no, I have not forgotten the chocolate chip cookie fight.  I will post cookie number four later this week. Happy Baking!

2 thoughts on “Baby Bum Cake

Leave a Reply

