World AIDS Orphan Day: Baking for a Cause

photo 2 (1)

Last week I made a huge batch of cupcakes to raise money for the Golder Trust for Orphans, a charity that the company I work for created.  My office will often have events or sell things within our office in an effort to raise money for the Trust.  May 7th was World AIDS Orphan Day, and I made… get this.. 72 cupcakes.. yikes! It took a lot of work.  A lot of baking and cooling really.  But I managed, and came out with 72 cupcakes, decorated with fondant and gum paste blossoms and daisies, sugar pearls and chocolate chips.  The cupcakes were red velvet, vanilla and chocolate, and were topped with swirls of green and orange buttercream.  They turned out great.  Thanks to everyone in the office, we raised $315.00!!!!  I’ve posted all the pictures below.  If you are interested in contributing to the Golder Trust for Orphans, please visit their website at http://goldertrust.org/donate/

GTO-Image2


photophoto 2 (2)

DSCF1460

photo 3 (1)photo 3

photo (2)photo 1 (1)

On another note, I hope everyone enjoyed their mother’s day weekend! I have some cakes coming up after the long weekend that I am so super excited to share, including another baby cake and an angry birds cake.  I found a fantastic tutorial that demonstrated how to make fondant baby shoes, and I will post it with my comments after I have made the cake.  Happy Baking!!

Leave a Reply

