Pirate Birthday Cake

photo 3 (5)Yikes – it has been a while since my last post – since my last cake really, which was done more than 3 weeks ago.  Sorry for the neglect! I promise this summer when I am on hiatus from cake decorating that I will continue to post fun links, articles, or pictures of baking related awesomeness.  On to this week’s cake.  I created a pirate themed birthday cake for my ex-coworker’s sister’s 4 year old son…wow, say THAT five times fast… I made a cake for my friend’s nephew.  I’m pretty happy with how it turned out.  I was hoping for a bit more on the design side though – I was dreaming of a gum paste/fondant 3D fully functional treasure chest.  Not as easy as you might think – mostly because of the fact that while I was in a deep sleep dreaming of dancing cupcakes and dessert bars, the wind decided to plow through my window, knock over my fondant roller that sat on my cake table, and demolished the fantastic treasure chest lid I had worked on for over an hour. Needless to say, I was in no mood to remake it. Nonetheless I was able to come up with a different design that I feel worked out quite well.  I made a friendly looking skull for the topper and added some gold pearl dust covered fondant balls and a whole wack of chocolate loonies.

I started off by covering a 3-layer 8 inch cake and a 3-layer 6 inch cake with red fondant.  I added black and blue stripes to the bigger tier, and then stacked the cakes using dowel rods.  I added the loonies to the cake – I was going for the “treasure look” – using piping gel. Both tiers were surrounded by a black ball border.  I made the skull by simply kneading out a large ball of white fondant, and shaping it into a skull with my fingers.  I added the details with a black edible food writer.

photo 1 (4)photo 4 (3)

photo 2 (4)photo 5 (3)

photo 1 (5)photo 3 (3)

I added the rest of the decoartions after the skull was secured on the top of the cake.  The loonies and pearl dusted fondant balls were added, and then I began working on the top tier.  I created a treasure map sort of thing, with a small island at the back that had a palm tree and an X marks the spot detail.  I drew a compass on the cake using the food writer, and then added the “4” in the front.  And presto! There it is.

photo 4 (5)photo 2 (6)

photo 3 (4)photo 4 (4)

Pretty simple – I’m quite sad that my treasure chest didn’t turn out, but there’s always next time I suppose. I think my favourite part about this cake is the skull….because it’s super adorable. Next cake (and final one until the fall) is another bachelorette cake. Stay tuned. Happy Baking!!

Leave a Reply

