A different kind of baking…

184Okay. I know. I suck. A month since my last post.  I wish I could say it was because I’m EXTREMELY busy, and have no time for anyone or anything, but let’s be serious, it’s summer, the weather is fantastic, and I’m spending the majority of my weekends at camp.  As I predicted I am just not making the time this summer.  Plus, after the sweltering 40 degree heat wave (Celsius, not Fahrenheit for my american friends) we just had, I am in no mood to turn on my oven in my unairconditioned apartment, no mood I tell you!    However, the other night I did throw a little something in the oven, and I really had to share.  It’s less of a “omg I want to eat this now” kinda thing and more of a “omg I want to keep this forever” kinda thing.  So, allow me to fill you in.

One of my best friends in the entire world is going on a big adventure, and moving half way across the world to England, where she will be teaching for one year.  She leaves next Sunday and will be hopping on the plane to her new home Monday night.  I am super excited for her.  I thought I would make her a little something for her trip.  Something…friendship-y.  So after a quick search on Pinterest I found a fantastic idea.  Friendship mugs! There are four of us in our little group, so I thought, why not make little friendship mugs for everyone?? Such a fun and nifty idea!  So i did, and here are the steps I took to make it:

180

Step one. Buy a mug.

Step two. Buy a Sharpie.

Step three. Write on mug with Sharpie.

Step four. Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes.

Now, I gotta say, Pinterest, you have rarely steered me wrong, but as rinsed my beautiful new friendship mug I noticed a slight smudge from one of my lines on my Province of Ontario, right around the Attawapiskat area. Poor Attawapiskat. So anyway, I decided to do more research, and found this site. Thank you breebarkley for your fantastic DIY Sharpie mugs.  Although I only wish I had found you sooner. Here’s what miss breebarkley had to say:

1. Not all Sharpies stay the same colour once baked.  She implies that Red Sharpies often fade to yellow…mine didn’t but that’s probably because it wasn’t baked at the proper temperature.  Through her experience, BIC red markers seem to stay red.

2. Bake at 425 degrees, not 350 degrees, as the glaze on the mug is not hot enough to bind with the marker.

3. The mug needs to be placed in the oven before you turn it on.  This prevents cracking.  It should be baked for 30 minutes.  The timer can be turned on once it’s place in the oven (unless your oven takes forever to heat up, like mine, in which case you can turn on the timer once it reaches 425).

4. When the 30 minutes is up, do not take the mug out of the oven, instead, leave it in there while the over cools to prevent it from cracking.

5. Once the mug has cooled, do the water test….does the ink come off? smudge? anything? If so, do it again.

Other tips include letting the mug sit for 24 hours after drawing your design, using painters tape to help keep your writing straight, and using a Q-tip dipped in rubbing alcohol to fix mess ups.  It’s also a good idea to watch your mug while its in the oven, they can sometimes brown a little bit.  You can find the full blog post at the link I provided above.

So I’m definitely rebaking mine, I want this mug to last me more than a day. This mug sure does hold alot though; I was able to fit in an XL tea from Tim Horton’s this morning…much needed caffeine as it’s Friday morning and my mind is already on my couch with a glass of red wine in one hand, and an Xbox controller in the other.  So I hope you enjoyed this little tutorial…. I know you can’t eat this kind of baking but still, is it not super neat??  Happy Baking friends!!!

182

186185

One thought on “A different kind of baking…

  1. Pingback: Skinny Chocolate Chip Fruit Explosion Muffins | Kelsey Learns to Bake

Leave a Reply

