Skinny Strawberry Chocolate Chip Muffins

008

The other day I started poking around for some new blogs to follow.  I found a little gem, Sally’s Baking Addiction, that I discovered while exploring the baking world on Facebook, and I came across some FANTASTIC muffin recipes. I know, I know, I did mention that I probably wouldn’t be baking for a while, but it’s been a month since I baked any sweet treats and I got an itch to throw on my apron and get in the kitchen, especially since these muffins looked so damn good.  If you get a chance please, please, please check out her site, her recipes are drool-worthy.  

So anyone who knows me know that I am not a huge fan in calorie cutting when it comes to baking.  To me, baking means flour, oil, and sugar, and lots of it.  Reduced calorie baking just never seems right to me, and never tastes quite the same.  Anyone who knows me will also know that I am a stress eater, and after a, well, slightly more than stressful year, I may or may not be fitting quite right in my fave skinny jeans…and by not fitting in them right I mean I can’t get the damn things past my thighs. No worries, I’m working on it, but I have raised the white flag and surrendered in my fight against my bikini… I am now allied with it’s foe, the tankini.  So I was surprised when I came across Miss Sally’s blog, and saw a whole wack of low fat and low sugar baking options.  I was skeptical at first, but I thought, what the hell, my waist line isn’t getting any smaller, and Miss Sally promised that the taste was not compromised.  So, therein lies the story of my first low calorie baking effort: Skinny Strawberry Chocolate Chip Muffins.

013

Let me just say, that these muffins are 140 calories each. Yes, you heard me right.  Another great thing about these muffins is that they are made with only 8 simple ingredients, AND they are a small batch recipe, making only 10 muffins.  I enjoy this because I am in a two person household, and there are only so many muffins I can force feed my boyfriend before they go bad.  I also love that these muffins are so versatile.  You can change the strawberries to blueberries, or maybe banana chunks? cranberries?  I opted to follow her recipe pretty closely, although I added a small banana slice to the top of the muffin for a little extra.

011

So what makes these muffins so low fat? The recipe calls for unsweetened applesauce instead of butter or oil.  There is no real fat source in this muffin, but by adding the applesauce the moisture won’t be compromised.  I may try a few of her other skinny recipes in the next few weeks, or perhaps even switch this one up, and maybe the lesser calories will give me the kick I need to get back into gear and shed this 15 pounds I wish could just melt off of me.  You can find the full recipe here.

012

Skinny Strawberry Chocolate Chip Muffins

makes 10 muffins, 140 calories per serving

Ingredients

  • 1 and 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/4 cup light brown sugar, packed
  • 1/2 cup + 2 Tablespoons unsweetened applesauce
  • 1 egg white, beaten
  • 2/3 cup diced strawberries
  • 1/3 cup mini chocolate chips

Baking Directions

  • Preheat oven to 350F degrees. Spray 10 muffin tins with nonstick cooking spray. Set aside.
  • In a large bowl, gently toss the flour, baking soda, and cinnamon. Set aside. In a separate bowl, mix the brown sugar, granulated sugar, and applesauce until together until no brown sugar lumps remain – a fork works well to break up the brown sugar here. Add the beaten egg white until fully incorporated. Add the wet ingredients to the dry until just combined – do not overmix. Fold in the strawberries and chocolate chips.
  • Divide the batter evenly between 10 muffin tins. Bake for 15-20 minutes. Muffins will be lightly golden in color and a toothpick inserted in the middle should come out clean. Mine took about 18 minutes. Allow muffins to cool and enjoy.

Muffins can be stored in an airtight container for up to seven days and can be frozen.

009

Pretty simple recipe right? It took me about 10 minutes to prepare everything, maybe less, and 18 minutes cook time – very quick and easy, not a recipe that would consume the better part of my day. Up next I will attempt Sally’s Skinny Tropical Muffins, and possibly even her Skinny Chocolate Banana Fudge Muffins.  Apparently, low fat or low sugar treats can mean tasty and flavourful; I am no longer skeptical.  These muffins were moist and tasted amazing! I couldn’t even tell that they were low fat. So take 30 minutes out of your day and bake some Skinny Strawberry Chocolate Chip Muffins. Happy Baking!!

010

2 thoughts on “Skinny Strawberry Chocolate Chip Muffins

  1. Pingback: Skinny Tropical Muffins | Kelsey Learns to Bake

  2. Pingback: Skinny Chocolate Chip Fruit Explosion Muffins | Kelsey Learns to Bake

Leave a Reply

