Skinny Tropical Muffins

004Want to know what I made today? Another batch of Skinny Muffins! This time, however, they were tropical flavoured. Yes, tropical is a flavour.  When I say tropical, I mean they have banana, pineapple, oranges, and coconut in them! Oh my goodness they are so fantastic.  Miss Sally strike again! Yet another recipe from Sally’s Baking Addiction, and I found a lot more that I’m intending to make in the next few weeks, including Skinny Double Chocolate Chip Muffins, Sky High Apple Pie Muffins..and…wait for it…homemade Cinnamon  Buns. Yes people, I, Kelsey Bakes, am going to make Cinnamon Buns…from scratch…with yeast and everything…and like…I’m going to knead the dough. I’m actually kindof nervous, so I’m not going to tell anybody that I’m making them, just in case I mess up and have to throw the entire batch out.  I have found some helpful kneading tips online, but you never know, I may drop the ball and totally destroy them.   So as many of you know, a few days ago I stumbled across a Skinny Strawberry Chocolate Chip Muffin recipe, and I couldn’t resist making them.  So naturally I had to try the others as well, and the tropical muffins were first on my list. I think my co-workers will be elated thanks so the copious amounts of muffins I will be bringing in over the next few weeks.  So let’s talk muffins.  Does anyone remember my first attempts at baking muffins?  The first was Chocolate Chip Banana Muffins, which turned out well, but were a little tough, I believe I had very under ripe bananas and may have over mixed the batter a little bit.  The second attempt was Apple Muffins…and with that baking attempt, I learned how to measure flour correctly….don’t scoop, pour. I renamed these Apple Muffins to Mini Apple Crumble Cakes.  Di you know that by scooping your flour instead of pouring it (my pouring I mean spooning it into a measuring cup and then leveling with a knife) that you can use 150% of the recommended flour?? Fun fact.  Anyway, I’m really impressed with how these muffins turned out and I love how the last ones turned out….so that must mean I’m getting better at baking and following recipes! Right??? Right.

005

These muffins are low fat, low sugarAND whole wheatAnd, AND. Guess what else?  Only 140 calories!  I know…I had to double check after my calculator read that number.  So my first step was to ripen some bananas. Yes. I had to ripen them. Bananas don’t last long enough in my house for them to do that by themselves.  I went to my local grocery store I bought some fresh organic bananas, as the non-organics were way under ripe…most of them were still green! At least the organics had some brown on them.  I then proceeded to microwave them.. I poked a few holes through the banana peel , and tossed them in for about three minutes.  The instructions that I googled said about 1.5 minutes, but my microwave is so old that it often takes twice the amount of time to heat things up than the instructions indicate.  Woohoo, life of a student! Okay, I can’t actually use that one anymore but I did buy it when I was a student, and refuse to give it up until the damn thing croaks.

003

Much like most other low cal, low fat, or low sugar recipes, this one uses honey to sweeten it up (with 1/2 cup of lightly packed brown sugar).  The greek yogurt is an excellent substitute for oil and will help keep the muffins moist (with help from the bananas of course).  It also uses white whole wheat flour.  The creator of this recipe (Miss Sally) does not recommend using 100% whole wheat flour as it can make the muffin tough.  I decided not to argue and of course, followed the recipe pretty closely.  The only thing I changed was my cook time.  I have a very old oven..I wish I could get a new one..you know, with even baking all over, zero hot spots, a convection oven would be splendid.  But hey, it was free.  It was free and came with free hot spots.  I have to rotate my muffins in the last few minutes so that they’ll actually cook all the way through.  Anyway. The baking recommendations are 325F degrees for about 18 minutes.  I baked mine at 350F degrees for about 22 minutes.  I used the toothpick test to determine when to pull them. And they just weren’t all cooked at 18 minutes, even at 350F Degrees.

009

Skinny Tropical Muffins

makes 15 muffins, 140 calories per serving.  muffins can be stored at room temperature for up to five days.  muffins taste best the next day.  these muffins freeze well, up to 3 months.

Ingredients

  • 2 1/2 cups white whole wheat flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1/2 cup light brown sugar, loosely packed
  • 1 cup mashed very ripe bananas (I used 3 small organic)
  • 1/4 cup nonfat vanilla greek yogurt
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • zest from 1 orange (do not skip this!!!)
  • 1 1/4 cup fresh pineapple, diced
  • 1 thinly sliced banana for topping
  • 1/4 cup shredded coconut (I used much less than this, just enough to say it was sprinkled on)

Baking Directions

1. Preheat oven to 325F degrees. Spray 15 muffin tins with nonstick spray. Set aside. **Note, that oven temperatures may vary.  I baked at 350F degrees for 22 minutes.  Do not use cupcake liners, as the muffins will stick to them.

2. In a large bowl, combine the flour, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon together.  Set aside.

3. In a separate bowl, mix the honey and brown sugar together – it will be thick and lumpy. Try to get out as many lumps as you can – a fork works well to break it up. ** I used my stand mixer for this part – it blended very quickly and I had no issues with consistency. Add the mashed banana, yogurt, and beaten egg. Slowly pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients. Gently begin to fold it all together. It will be very thick. Add the milk slowly and continue to gently mix the ingredients together. The milk will thin everything out, but the batter will still remain thick. Fold in the orange zest and pineapple. Do not overmix the batter, which will lend tough, dry muffins

4, Divide the batter between 15 muffin tins.  Fill them all the way to the top.  Top each muffin with thin slices of the sliced banana, and a sprinkle of the shredded coconut.  Bake the first 12, then the last three in another batch. Fill the empty muffin tins halfway with water in the 2nd batch to ensure even baking. **love this idea! Bake for 17-18 minutes until very lightly browned on the edges.  **Again, oven temperatures will vary, always do the toothpick test before removing your treats and never start checking until the minimum recommended baking time has past.  Allow the muffins to cool completely.

006And there you have it friendlies!! Skinny Tropical Muffins.  You can find the original recipe here. The recipe was actually simple enough, and didn’t take much time to prepare and bake.  I give taste 10/10..these were fantastic and had a really unique flavour to them.  I never thought tropical muffins would be a thing…but indeed they are.  I like how different muffins can turn out, just by adding or changing a few simple ingredients.  I cannot wait to try more!

008

So who would have thought that I would more over to the dark side of healthy bakes and skinny treats?!  I am loving how little time these recipes are taking me.  I have to admit, there were a few moments in the past month while I was busy creating nifty cakes that I thought I was losing my passion for baking.  These cakes and cupcakes started taking SO much work and consuming so much of my time, that I didn’t have time for anything else – but I’m loving that I have started this again.  Stay tuned for more fantastic recipes!! I cannot wait to test them out and then share.  Happy Baking!!!

010

One thought on “Skinny Tropical Muffins

  1. Pingback: Skinny Chocolate Chip Fruit Explosion Muffins | Kelsey Learns to Bake

Leave a Reply

