Skinny Chocolate Chip Fruit Explosion Muffins

007I just had to bake another batch of muffins this week…just one more.  I know..I’m going a little crazy.  I can’t help it! I had WAAAAYYY too much caffeine this morning. Thanks to my DIY friendship mug I made, I filled it up twice…that’s a lot of coffee.  When I came home this evening I got a crazy burst of energy and baked up a storm. I just really need to find the perfect combination of flavours, all baked into a little muffin of goodness.  This batch is kind of similar to one that I’ve already made, my Chocolate Chip Strawberry Muffins that I grabbed of Sally’s Baking Addiction, but with one huge difference: They are not chocolate chip strawberry, they are chocolate chip raspberry blueberry! And oh my goodness. Are they ever good!  I think I like them more than the chocolate chip strawberry, and I actually think I like them more than the Tropical Muffins I made the other day.  This muffin is like an explosion of flavour in my mouth…hence the name chocolate chip fruit explosion.  I bit into this muffin, and my mouth literally exploded. With awesomeness. In a good way.

So let’s talk muffins.  You know what drives me nuts? When people say – “Hey, cool, you made cupcakes”, and I’m like, “Oh no, they’re muffins.” and then they’re all “Pff. Whateves. Same thing.”  No my friends! They are not the same. They are soooooo not the same! But then they’re like, “Well what’s the difference?” So what is the difference exactly?  My usual response is, well….cupcakes are cake. And muffins are… so wait what are muffins? Are they bread?  I would move more towards bread…but there’s no yeast? So would they be a bread product? Quick and dirty – cupcakes have icing and muffins do not.  However…going into more detail we can see that there are other differences. “A basic formula for muffins is 2 cups flour, 2-4 tablespoons sugar, 2½ teaspoons baking powder, ½ teaspoon salt, 1 egg, ¼ cup oil, shortening or butter and 1 cup milk. When the fat, sugar and egg ratio in a recipe reaches double or more than this, you have reached the cake level.” (Thanks Diana’s Desserts!) So I think I’m going to stick with “cupcakes are cake, while muffins are more like a bread with additions like fruits and chocolate chips.”

004

So before I made my next batch of muffins I thought…what are some of my favourite fruits? How can I turn these strawberry chocolate chip muffins into something super duper fantastic.  So I thought about it. I love Strawberries…but I LOVE Blueberries. Aside from bananas, they are my favourite fruit. And raspberries are great with blueberries. And they are also one of my favourites…. okay I just love, love, LOVE fruit. I see another tropical form of muffin – you know, maybe throw in some mango with the orange zest and banana. Yikes – my mouth is already watering.

006

Alright so back to the muffins – again, these are a spin off from my Chocolate Chip Strawberry Muffins.  The only difference is that instead of the 2/3 cups strawberries I used raspberries, and then added 1/3 cup blueberries.  Now I’ve made blueberry muffins before…and used frozen blueberries…my muffins turned out COMPLETELY BLUE.  It was weird…weird looking. I didn’t post those pictures or the recipe…but I will reattempt and I promise it will make appearance here at some point. So I cannot stress enough… USE FRESH FRUIT. The blueberries… some of them explode and when you bite into the muffin, it’s like a blast of fruity goodness.  Trust me. Always fresh over frozen.  Now just like my Strawberry Muffins, these are 140 calories per serving.  My diet appreciates that…but I’m also eating muffins galore so maybe everything is just balancing itself out? Something like that… they’re just so damn good!

008

Skinny Chocolate Chip Fruit Explosion Muffins

makes 10 muffins, 140 calories per serving

Ingredients

  • 1 and 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/4 cup light brown sugar, packed
  • 1/2 cup + 2 Tablespoons unsweetened applesauce
  • 1 egg white, beaten
  • 2/3 cup fresh raspberries
  • 1/2 cup fresh blueberries

Baking Directions

  • Preheat oven to 350F degrees. Spray 10 muffin tins with nonstick cooking spray. Set aside.
  • In a large bowl, gently toss the flour, baking soda, and cinnamon. Set aside. In a separate bowl, mix the brown sugar, granulated sugar, and applesauce until together until no brown sugar lumps remain – a fork works well to break up the brown sugar here. Add the beaten egg white until fully incorporated. Add the wet ingredients to the dry until just combined – do not over mix.  Fold in the raspberries, blueberries and chocolate chips.
  • Divide the batter evenly between 10 muffin tins. Bake for 15-20 minutes. Muffins will be lightly golden in color and a toothpick inserted in the middle should come out clean. Mine took about 19 minutes. Allow muffins to cool and enjoy.

Muffins can be stored in an airtight container for up to seven days and can be frozen.

009

One thought on “Skinny Chocolate Chip Fruit Explosion Muffins

  1. Pingback: Skinny Chocolate Chip Fruit Explosion Muffins

Leave a Reply

