Skinny Chocolate Peanut Butter Swirl Brownies

photo 2 (4)Let’s talk skinny treats.  This one is fantastic. And one of the easiest recipes I have ever baked in my entire life.  Seriously. I’m not kidding.  This is the second time I have ever made brownies, in my life, and the first time…well, the first time it went relatively well, but let’s just say it was pretty well the first time I had attempted to bake anything (Aside from a brownie oreo cookie dough jumble of treats that I ended up overbaking to the point that it almost broke my tooth when I bit into it… oh how far I have come).  So needless to say, my first batch of brownies was no where near as tasty as this one, and not nearly as skinny either.  This chocolate and peanut butter swirl brownie is – wait are you sitting down? seriously sit down – only 120 calories per square! I think I can hear the celebrations as I write.  Party horns blowing, confetti dropping. It’s okay to cheer, honest, I’m not judging. I did.  

I love finding a new tasty treat that has very few calories.  I actually like this one a lot because I used no sugar. You heard that right. No sugar. Instead of the 1 cup of sugar, I used 1/2 cup of honey as a substitution.  The recipe also calls for greek yogurt, almond milk, egg whites, unsweetened cocoa powder, and rolled oats.  That’s it for the batter.  This recipe can easily be made gluten free if using gluten free oats.  I used light creamy peanut butter for the swirl.  Do not use natural peanut butter for this recipe. I almost couldn’t believe that there is no flour in this recipe! 

The brownies come out very fudgy. They are a messy treat.  It is recommended that you wait until the brownies are 100% cooled before slicing.  I got this recipe from Sally’s Baking Addiction (of course) and she even went as far as tossing them in the fridge for a few hours.  Her’s also look much prettier than mine so perhaps I’ll try that next time, I’ll also have to practice my peanut butter swirl.  You can find the original recipe here.

photo 2 (5)

The other fantastic thing about this recipe? How about the fact that you will have relatively no dirty dishes? Why? Step 1. place all dry ingredients in a blender (yes…blender); Step 2. Place all wet ingredients on top of said dry ingredients; Step 3. Place lid on blender;  Step 4. Blend. BAM there’s your batter. The batter will be very thin.  Place in pan.  Then simply melt the peanut butter in the microwave, adding it to the brownie batter in large dollops, and then use a knife to make the swirl.  Do not overmix.

photo 1 (4)

Skinny Chocolate Peanut Butter Swirl Brownies

makes 16 squares, 120 calories per serving.  brownies stay fresh at room temperature for 2 days, and refrigerated for 5 days.

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup (185 grams) creamy peanut butter (do not use natural, runny peanut butter)
  • 6 oz. low fat or fat free vanilla greek yogurt
  • 1/4 cup (60 ml) skim milk (or almond milk)
  • 1 large egg (or 2 egg whites)
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 cup (200 grams) granulated sugar  (see note above in post about substitutions)
  • 1/2 cup (64 grams) unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/2 cup (40 grams) old-fashioned rolled oats

Baking Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350F. Spray a 8×8 inch pan with non-stick cooking spray. Set aside.
  2. Place all of the ingredients except for the peanut butter into a blender or food processor. (Yes, a blender!) For easier blending, place the liquid ingredients into the blender first. Blend until mix is smooth and oats are ground up. You will have to stop the blender and scrape down the sides a few times.
  3. Pour batter into prepared baking dish. Batter will be thin. Microwave peanut butter for about 30 seconds. Drop melted peanut butter by spoonfuls onto the batter, swirling gently with a knife to create a marbled effect. (Try not to overmix!)
  4. Bake for 20-25 minutes or until brownies begin to pull away from the sides of the pan. Brownies will be extra fudgy, so be sure to wait until COMPLETELY cooled –  Cut into squares and enjoy!

 Tonight I am making another real food recipe – a homemade veggie burger topped with guacamole (homemade), onion, tomato and spinach, on a whole wheat bun.  I cannot wait!  Today I went to 2 grocery stores looking for these amazing Ezekiel burger buns.  Could I find them? Nope! So frustrated.  The drive took up the better part of my lunch and still, no burger buns.  I ended up
photo (3)buying a few Kaisers from the bakery, which will do for now.  I have also discovered a great new lunch option: vegetable pancakes.  They are so good.  And very simple to make: grate 2 cups of vegetables ( I do 1/4 cup of carrots, zucchini, potato and sweet potato), mix in with 2 eggs and 2 tbsp of whole wheat flour, add a little garlic, and then pan fry into pancake shapes.  Super
good. They almost taste like hashbrowns.  And thanks to the eggs are extremely filling.  I get 4 pancakes out of the “batter”, 2 per serving.  They are also quite low in calories! Get this: 166 calories per 2 pancakes! So. Amazing.  You can find the recipe here,
it’s by 100 Day of Real Food.  I can’t wait to tell you about my veggie burger – I will let you know how it goes…it involves a food processor…which I broke down and bought today…  Happy Baking!  

Leave a Reply

