Chocolate Covered Oreo Cheesecake Balls

photo 5

So I have a secret, a guilty pleasure if you will, maybe even an obsession – with cheesecake.  I love cheesecake.  I think it is my favourite dessert ever, of all time.  Every time I order dessert at a restaurant, it’s cheesecake.  Always.  So when I discovered that I can roll cheesecake into a tiny bite sized ball and cover it in chocolate, I was sold.  Chocolate covered Oreo cheesecake balls.  So freaking amazing.  This recipe is incredibly easy, which is one of the reasons why I decided to add it to my list of recipes that I would be making this year.  I have a few more things on my Christmas baking bucket list that I want to make, but as anyone who bakes at Christmas knows, the easier the recipe the better,  especially if you’re making a lot of different items for a lot of different people.   photo 3

For this recipe, you will need a few simple ingredients:  one package of cream cheese, one package of Oreos, 2 cups of melted chocolate and 2 tbsp of shortening.  I always add shortening to my melted chocolate as it will make the chocolate thinner and more manageable when coating.

photo 4

This recipe is super simple: using a food processor, crush Oreos until finely ground.  If you don’t have a food processor, toss the Oreos in a large Ziploc bag and crush the cookies using a rolling pin.  
photo 1

Mix the crushed Oreos with the cream cheese (softened), and once combined, form the mixture into small balls, about 1/2 oz each.  Pop the Oreo cheesecake balls into the fridge for at least 30 minutes.  Once the balls are hardened, toss them in the melted chocolate and shortening mixture, one by one, and place on a baking sheet lined with wax paper.  Let cool for another 20 to 30 minutes.  I add red chocolate drizzle to coat the cheesecake balls in order to give them a little Christmas colour.

photo 2

Chocolate Covered Oreo Cheesecake Balls

Ingredients

1 (18-ounce) package Oreo cookies
8 ounces cream cheese, softened
2 cups semisweet chocolate chips
2 tablespoons vegetable shortening

Directions

1. Crush the Oreos using a food processor, or by adding the Oreos to a Ziploc bag and crushing them using a rolling pin.

2. Using a spoon, press, mix and stir until the cream cheese is completely mixed into the Oreo crumbs and you have a soft, homogeneous mixture.

3. Roll the mixture into small 1/2 oz. balls (equal to about 2 tsp)  and place on a baking sheet lined with wax paper.  Refrigerate for 30 minutes.

4.  Using a double boiler (or microwave, or heat safe bowl atop a pot)  melt chocolate and shortening together.  Place the cooled cheesecake Oreo balls into the melted chocolate, one at a time, until fully coated.  Use a fork to lift the balls from the mixture, tapping against the side of your bowl to remove excess chocolate.  Place back on baking sheet and cool in the refrigerated until the chocolate has hardened (10 to 15 minutes).

Told you it was simple! Try them – they are amazing.  Everyone loves cheesecake, right?  So it’s pretty well a must make.  Happy Baking!

One thought on “Chocolate Covered Oreo Cheesecake Balls

  1. FYI – I think I may have grabbed this recipe from Brown Eyed Baker (www.browneyedbaker.com) last year – I had this saved in a word doc so I can’t be sure. Just wanted to give her props just in case!

    Like

Leave a Reply

