Whole Wheat Banana Chocolate Chip Pancakes

photo 3Breakfast is the most important meal of the day – and, on weekends, it’s by far my favourite meal of the day. In general, I do not need to rush on a weekend.  I’m not going to be late for anything because I usually have no where to go.  This means that I can spend a little extra time making breakfast – and well, usually on the weekend my breakfasts are a little more…. carb-y.  My boyfriend has been begging me for weeks to make pancakes for breakfast, and I think he was almost ready to buy the prepacked boxed stuff and give it a go himself if I didn’t make a batch.  Of course I wasn’t having any of that.  So to save him from the Aunt Jamima pancake wannabes (and to save my poor pans from being scorched to death due to my boyfriend’s inability to cook) I agreed to make a from scratch batch of whole wheat banana pancakes. It was also a request that the pancakes be chocolate chip, and since I usually have some form of chocolate in my house I searched my cupboards and found a few chocolate chips to throw into the mix. Yummmmyyy…   I can’t remember the last time I had pancakes, and surprisingly enough. I’ve NEVER made pancakes before.  Never in my life.  Pancakes were something I would watch my mom cook when I was little.  She would put all the ingredients in a bowl, I would mix it and then sit on the counter as I watched her cook it all up.  She would make a bunch of fun shapes: a big circle for a head and tiny circles for eyes; she would make a nose and ears and a big smile.  Sometimes she’d even make a Mickey Mouse.  It was great. We had tones of fun eating our Saturday morning pancakes.

photo 2

Since I had never made pancakes before, I decided to do a little googling.  I found an excellent recipe from InspiredTaste that I used for a guideline.  For this recipe I used whole wheat flour mixed with a little unbleached all purpose flour, but you can use all whole wheat flour if you want.  Using all whole wheat flour has it’s advantages, but tends to create a thicker batter so you may need to add more milk if it’s unreasonably thick.  I added a little sugar, but you can substitute with 2 tbsp of honey, as well as 1/2 cup of chocolate chips and 1 ripe mashed banana.  I included a little bit of cinnamon and it gave the batter an amazing taste.  And of course, I topped it off with some maple syrup – and I’m sure it would taste fabulous with some homemade whipped cream, powdered sugar, or fruit.

photo 1

Whole Wheat Banana Chocolate Chip Pancakes

Makes about ten 4-inch pancakes

Ingredients

  • 1 cup whole wheat flour 
  • 1/2 cup unbleached all-purpose flour
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/4 to 1 1/2 cups 2% milk
  • 1 large egg
  • 4 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted, plus more for skillet
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 large ripe banana, mashed
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips (or more if you like them extra chocolaty)

Cooking Instructions

  1. In a large bowl,  combine flours, sugar, cinnamon, baking powder and salt.  Set Aside.
  2. Heat milk in a skillet over medium heat until it is lukewarm (you should be able to hold your finger in it for 10 seconds without it burning).  Whisk together warmed milk, egg, melted butter, vanilla extract and mashed banana.
  3. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and combine until completely incorporated and no flour pockets remain.  Do not overmix the batter. Fold in chocolate chips.  You may add more milk if the batter seems too thick.
  4.  Heat a large skillet over medium heat.  Brush the pan with melted butter and spoon a 1/4 cup of the batter onto the skillet.  Use the spoon to spread the batter to about a 4 inch circle.
  5. When the edges look dry and bubbles form on the top of the pancake, it is ready to be flipped (about 2 minutes).  Cook the other side of the pancake for an additional 1 to 2 minutes – until light brown and cooked through the middle.

I’m not going to lie, we finished off the entire batch. Man they were good! They were light and fluffy, not too sweet, and the banana taste just amplified everything.  I will ABSOLUTELY be making them again… or some over form of pancake… I might be on a pancake roll now.  So, try these. They’re amazing. Happy Baking!

photo 5

Leave a Reply

