Parmesan Dijon Chicken With Fettuccine Alfredo and Sautéed Vegetables

I’m pretty in love with parmesan cheese.  I love it on my my pasta (all types of pasta) and sometimes on my meat, usually my chicken.  I love adding it to sauce, and have no objections to eating it by itself.  I like it in Caesar salad, and cold pasta salads.  I like it here and there and everywhere, I would eat it with a fox and I would eat it in a box. I would eat it on a train and on a plain, in a house or with a mouse.  Excuse my Dr. Seuss quotations… but I really do feel… passionate about parmesan cheese.  I’m THAT girl at the restaurant who, when the waiter says, “Parmesan Cheese or Fresh Cracked Pepper Miss?”  I say, “ABSOLUTELY!!” And then they say, “Okay, let me know when.”  And I don’t say when, and the Parmesan cheese just keeps piling up and piling up. But I just don’t say when.  And finally, I say it, but only because the people I’m dining with look at me like I’m a freak and the waiter is annoyed and I don’t want them to spit in my dessert.  SO I think we’ve determined that I love parmesan cheese and that I like using it in my recipes, which is what I did.  I made a Parmesan Dijon Chicken and served it with Fettuccine Alfredo and sautéed red onion and spinach.  It was fantastic.

photo 1

I first chopped up the chicken into strips. I brushed each strip front and back with Dijon mustard, and then pressed each piece into the shredded parmesan cheese, coating the entire surface of each chicken strip with the cheese.  Next I melted 1 tbsp of butter in a skillet with 1 tbsp of oil.  I laid each piece of chicken down in the pan and cooked them on medium heat.  After about 5 minutes I flipped the strips and let them cook for an additional 5 minutes and until the chicken was no longer pink inside.

photo 3

I made the Alfredo sauce during the last few minutes that the chicken was cooking.  I melted 2 tbsp of butter with 2/3 cup of heavy whipping cream in a skillet over medium heat.  Once the mixture started to chicken (about 4 minutes) I added 2 cups of whole wheat fettuccine noodles and turned the heat to medium-low.  I added another 1/3 cup of heavy cream and 2/3 cup of parmesan cheese.  This is meant ot be served immediately so make sure you time it that this is the last step you must complete before serving your meal.  I laid the chicken strips on top and added some sautéed onion and spinach – mushrooms and asparagus are also a great addition to this dish.  I drizzled a little bit of the Alfredo sauce on top and sprinkled with yet, more parmesan cheese.

photo 2

Parmesan Dijon Chicken With Fettuccine Alfredo and Sautéed Vegetables

Serves 2

Ingredients

for the chicken

  • 10 oz chicken, cut into strips
  • Dijon mustard
  • Parmesan cheese, shredded (about 1/2 cup to coat all the chicken)
  • 1 tbsp. butter
  • 1 tbsp. oil

for the fettuccine Alfredo

  • 1 cup heavy whipping cream, divided
  • 2/3 cup shredded parmesan cheese, shredded
  • 2 tbsp. butter
  • 2 cups whole wheat fettuccine (you can use up to 4 cups if you are serving more people)

Cooking Directions

  1. Brush both sides of each chicken strip with Dijon mustard and then press into shredded parmesan cheese until entire piece is coated.
  2. In a skillet, melt butter and add olive oil.  Ensure pan is well coated.  Place the strips in the skillet and cook on medium heat for about 5 minutes.  Flip and cook for an additional 5 minutes or until chicken is no longer pink.
  3. Make the Alfredo sauce by combining the butter and 2/3 of the cream into a skillet on medium heat.  Warm for about 4 minutes, stirring occasionally, until the mix starts to thicken.
  4. Add the noodles and turn the heat down to medium-low. Add the parmesan cheese and the rest of the cream (1/3 cup).  Serve immediately.
  5. Top with the chicken and sautéed vegetables of your choice.

So there you have it! It’s super easy.  This took me about 20 minutes from prep time to eat time, and there’s nothing I like more than a tasty, quick and easy recipe on a weeknight.  I’ll be signing off for a bit… I have my final exam this Thursday and then I’m done school until the summer. Woohoo! Wish me like. Happy Baking!

Leave a Reply

