Kelsey Does a Restaurant Review: The Hour Glass Sudbury

logo_2

Sooooo I’ve decided to start doing restaurant and food reviews as a writing side project, and because my bestie was all like “hey, you should do food critiques,” and I was like “okay”. So here I am, doing that.  I snagged the photos below from The Hour Glass Facebook Page and Website; please click them to go to the pages where they are located.

The Hour Glass is probably one of my favourite restaurants in Sudbury. It’s locally owned and has fantastic food. I’ve never been disappointed with the service.  While the food is great, I find myself drawn to the restaurant’s atmosphere: it’s very urban, with brick walls, hardwood floors, and the staff all dressed in black attire. The restaurant is well laid out and you’re far enough away from other tables so that you don’t hear the conversation of the group next to you. This is incredibly important to me, and I actually refuse to go to certain restaurants where I feel I’m toO close to other people. When I go out to eat, I have no interest in hearing about Suzy’s new boyfriend’s sick pickup truck from the girl sitting two tables away, so I appreciate when a restaurant takes that into consideration, rather than squishing in as many tables as possible to maximize profit margins.  The service is relatively quick, but not so quick that you feel like you’re being rushed out, and all the servers I’ve had have always been incredibly friendly.

I really appreciate how many gluten free options the The Hour Glass offers: every pasta dish can be substituted with gluten free noodles, and all sandwiches and burgers have the option of a gluten free bun or bread.  The Hour Glass has a great variety of appetizers, 10686921_10154564775050234_3453984864744133707_nincluding bruschetta and garlic bread, wings and nachos, seafood options, antipasto, and fondue.  We ordered the nachos as an appetizer.  I’ve always been impressed with The Hour Glass nachos for the reason that they’re not your typical cheese and salsa nachos.  They are made on tri-colour corn tortilla chips with melted cheese, feta, and jalapenos, with sour cream, salsa and guac (optional) on the side. My biggest pet peeve with any nachos is that by the time you get to the bottom layer the nachos become soft and soggy, but I’ve never experienced that issue with the nachos at this restaurant, which is why they are my favourite. No one likes soggy nachos.

For my main I ordered the Sriracha Onion Burger, a gourmet burger with garlic and chive cream cheese topped with caramelized Sriracha onions.  Because I’ve ordered a burger at this restaurant before, I knew how large they were and decided to order a side salad rather than fries in case I wanted to try to fit in some dessert. The burger was amazing.  I had never tried cream cheese on a burger before, but since I am a burger lover, I figured, why not try something new? I almost couldn’t finish it, but I managed.  The only issue I had with this burger is that the garlic and chive cream cheese had WAY too much garlic. I quite literally had garlic breath until the next night, even after scoping and brushing several times.  No part of me is exaggerating. So because of that reason, while the taste was fantastic I don’t think that I would order this particular burger again unless they are able to tone down the garlic.  Nobody likes garlic breath.

desertBnrLeftI decided to skip dessert and instead got a fun flavoured martini – I opted for a chocolate martini, but I’ve tasted their cheesecake in the past (which is ALWAYS my go to dessert) and it is fantastic.  All their desserts are make in house and are all gluten free.  Overall I had a great experience at The Hour Glass, and I fully intend on trying every burger on their menu since they seem so different from the average burger. They actually have a burger that has peanut butter on it, another that’s rolled in toasted almonds, and another that has a deep fried cream cheese and jalapeno patty on the top of the beef patty. Can you say foodgasm? I sure can. FOODGASM.

Leave a Reply

